Skip to main content

Ster ZLM Toer - McNally most combative rider

Ster ZLM Toer - McNally most combative rider

Mark McNally showed good form in the 3rd stage of Ster ZLM Toer (2.1, 14-18/06). After 10km into the stage 8 riders formed a breakaway. Our British rider Mark McNally was one of them. The riders took on some famous climbs in Dutch Limburg (Eyserbosweg, Cauberg, etc.), but the end of the stage was more flat. In the final of the stage McNally and Lucas Spengler were the final remainers of the break. 

After almost 200 kilometer in the offensive the 2 companions were caught by a reduced bunch with 5km to go. Xandro Meurisse was involved in a crash with 3km to go. He reached the finish line, but suffers from pain in the knee and ribs. Dylan Groenewegen was again the fastest in Buchten. Kenny Dehaes finished 14th. McNally was awarded the combative price after all his efforts. Tomorrow the hilly stage to La Gileppe takes place, where the GC will be decided.

Mark McNally:

"I took off early in the stage with 7 other riders. On the climbs I tried to go for the mountain jersey, but unfortunately that didn't succeed. In the local laps we wanted to stay ahead as long as possible. For a moment we had a chance for the stage win, but we were caught by the pack with 5km to go.

My form is already good for quite some time. But you also need luck to be in the breakaway. Cycling is complicated. It isn't like Pro Cycling Manager where you join the break whenever you want! That is why I am happy about today's performance, it feels nice to be on the podium again. Tomorrow we will try the chances of Xandro (Meurisse) and Fabien (Doubey). The whole team here is in good shape."

Results stage 3 (Buchten - Buchten)

1. Dylan Groenewegen
2. André Greipel
3. Moreno Hofland
14. Kenny Dehaes
55. Wesley Kreder
56. Fabien Doubey
65. Danilo Napolitano
66. Kevin Van Melsen
71. Simone Antonini
99. Mark McNally
115. Xandro Meurisse

General classification after stage 3 

1. Primoz Roglic
2. Marcel Kittel + 00:03
3. Maximilian Schachmann 
48. Xandro Meurisse + 00:34
55. Fabien Doubey + 00:39
63. Wesley Kreder + 00:43
70. Kevin Van Melsen + 00:48
73. Simone Antonini
91. Mark McNally + 01:06
95. Kenny Dehaes + 01:11
104. Danilo Napolitano + 01:25