Skip to main content

Ster ZLM Toer (4) : Doubey anticipates

Ster ZLM Toer (4) : Doubey anticipates

The fourth stage of Ster ZLM Toer (2.1, 14-18/06) took off with a nervous start. The peloton split in two parts and only fifty riders were in the first part. Seven riders broke away, between them Wesley Kreder. The race exploded between la Redoute and Annette-et-Lubin were the favorites broke away. In the local laps around Barrage de La Gileppe the stage was decided. Fabien Doubey finished in the 1st group 24 seconds behind winner Gonçalves. In the GC our French neo pro is 13th. Xandro Meurisse had to abandon with pain in the ribs after yesterday's crash. Danilo Napolitano did not start the stage because of an injury to the achilles tendon.

Fabien Doubey :

« The race started fast and with Wesley Kreder, Simone Antonini and me we had three riders in front. Wesley joined the breakaway, which brought us some rest. Roglic and Gonçalves accelerated in Annette-et-Lubin. Maybe I made a mistake by not joining them. I decided to follow Lotto, they didn't have a man in the break. In the final of the race I still had good legs. I didn't came here for top 10, so I decided to try to obtain 3rd place.

On the final climb Roglic accelerated two times. I decided to attack on the steep part with 1 kilometer to go. Unfortunately I didn't have enough reserves with 500 meter to go. I was caught and finished top 15. But I do not regret my effort! I tried my chances and am happy of the stage. Everybody did a good job, even if the result isn't as good as we might have hoped. On Sunday a criterium awaits, a type of stage I don't really like. We should be alert, because I took a tumble in yesterday's crash. »

Results stage 4

1. José Goncalves
2. Laurens De Plus + 00:06
3. Primoz Roglic + 00:22
15. Fabien Doubey + 00:24
29. Kévin Van Melsen + 03:42
39. Simone Antonini + 04:54
42. Wesley Kreder + 08:15
61. Mark McNally + 12:14
107. Kenny Dehaes + 17:03
DNF Xandro Meurisse
DNS Danilo Napolitano

GC after stage 4

1. José Goncalves 
2. Primoz Roglic + 00:08
3. Laurens De Plus + 00:10
13. Fabien Doubey + 00:53
32. Kevin Van Melsen + 04:20
39. Simone Antonini + 05:32
42. Wesley Kreder + 08:48
70. Mark McNally + 13:10
99. Kenny Dehaes + 18:04