Skip to main content

Dunkirk - Solid Dupont sprints second in Soissons behind Greipel

Dunkirk - Solid Dupont sprints second in Soissons behind Greipel

On Wednesday Timothy Dupont came very close to a first 2018 victory in the second stage of Four Days of Dunkirk (2.HC, 08-13/05). A breakaway of two riders rode all day in front between Le Quesnoy and Soissons, but was reeled in at 12 kilometers from the finish. On the Côte de Pasly (10km from the finish) there were no big splits, and for the second day in a row the peloton headed for a bunch sprint. Wanty-Groupe Gobert showed up in the final as a block for sprinter Timothy Dupont, 5th on Tuesday. Dupont delivered a huge sprint in the streets of Soissons. Dupont finished an impressive second, only André Greipel was faster at the finish.

Timothy Dupont:

"Of course I was disappointed right after the finish. I was so close to a first season victory. But if you see between which big names I deliver this sprint, I have to be very satisfied. I came close to someone like Greipel, that is certainly not bad. With also Coquard, Bouhanni and Sarreau present there are a lot of strong sprinters here."

"I have a very strong team behind me, providing a perfect lead-out from 3 kilometers to 600 meters from the finish line. Then I chose Coquard's wheel, but suddenly Greipel positioned himself between us. Greipel started his sprint on the left.  I thought for a moment that he would be locked in and went on the right side. In the end I passed Coquard but could not catch Greipel anymore. "

"Tomorrow an uphill sprint is waiting. Such a stage finish definitely suits me. I did not suffer so much for nothing on those cols of Tour de Romandie two weeks ago. When we compare the Dunkirk climbs with Switzerland, then there are only flat mountains here. I knew that I needed Romandie in order to arrive here and in the upcoming weeks in splendid form."

Results Stage 2 (Le Quesnoy - Soissons)

1. André Greipel
2. Timothy Dupont
3. Bryan Coquard
29. Xandro Meurisse
48. Frederik Backaert
90. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck + 00:24
94. Tom Devriendt + 00:48
95. Simone Antonini + 01:06
98. Wesley Kreder + 02:07


1. Bryan Coquard
2. Marc Sarreau + 00:02
3. Jérémy Lecroq + 00:03
5. Timothy Dupont + 00:06
22. Xandro Meurisse + 00:12
32. Frederik Backaert
85. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck + 00:36
90. Tom Devriendt + 01:00
92. Simone Antonini + 01:18
98. Wesley Kreder + 02:19