Skip to main content

BinckBank Tour (5) - Van Melsen active in breakaway

BinckBank Tour (5) - Van Melsen active in breakaway

Kévin Van Melsen was active in the fifth stage of BinckBank Tour (2.WT, 07-13/08) with start and finish in Sittard-Geleen. After a fast opening phase seven riders were able to went clear from the pack. Kévin Van Melsen was part of the break in the company of Vakoc, Biermans, Bagdonas, Hepburn, Reinders and Allegaert. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck abandoned with a dizzy feeling after Thursday's crash. With 22 kilometers to go Van Melsen was caught by the pack after a nice day in the break. In an offensive final through the hills of Dutch Limburg a breakaway of 16 riders was established. Lars Boom took off in the final and took the victory in the Tom Dumoulin Bike Park. Dion Smith (22nd), Frederik Backaert (23rd) and Xandro Meurisse (33rd) finished in a second chasing group 46 seconds behind. Smith is now 35th in the GC.

Kevin Van Melsen:

"We have to grab all chances that are offered. Today was a tough ride. I didn't have super legs, but it was quite good anyway. Vakoc was very strong, he was at another level. When he pulled he accelerated every time, that was hard. We did a good ride with the breakaway."

"I know the track since I live quite close. It is better to ride in front than in the pack on the small roads with the corners. Tomorrow we pass through my town Welkenraedt, it would be nice to be in the breakaway again."

"When we were caught it didn't make sense for me to go full gas. My objective is not the GC so I would like to join the breakaway once more tomorrow."

Results Stage 5 

1. Lars Boom 
2. Peter Sagan + 00:03
3. Greg Van Avermaet
22. Dion Smith + 00:46
23. Frederik Backaert
33. Xandro Meurisse
73. Mark McNally + 03:03
113. Kevin Van Melsen + 08:53
146. Kenny Dehaes + 12:41
154. Pieter Vanspeybrouck

General classification after stage 5

1. Lars Boom
2. Peter Sagan + 00:02
3. Tom Dumoulin + 00:08
35. Dion Smith + 01:29
42. Frederik Backaert + 01:37
45. Xandro Meurisse + 01:42
69. Mark McNally + 04:04
103. Kevin Van Melsen + 09:50
120. Pieter Vanspeybrouck + 13:29
135. Kenny Dehaes + 14:30