Skip to main content

Arctic Race (2) : Pasqualon takes over green jersey after new podium spot

Arctic Race (2) : Pasqualon takes over green jersey after new podium spot

In the second stage in Arctic Race of Norway (2.1, 10-13/08) nobody could escape the expected bunch sprint in Bardufoss, ideal terrain for the riders with fast legs. The classical breakaway of six riders was caught with 5 kilometers to go. In the sprint the new European champion Alexander Kristoff was the fastest. Andrea Pasqualon finished 3rd and advances to 2nd spot in the general classification. The 29-year-old Italian rider is also the new owner of the green jersey as leader in the points classification. On Saturday the third stage finishes with a climb to Finnvikdalen (5.2km at 4.9%).
Andrea Pasqualon :

“With six kilometers to go I could take some bonification seconds with an eye on the general classification. Unfortunately Teuns finished 3rd, and because of that I could only gain 2 seconds. On the climb I felt good and because of that I headed to the final sprint with confidence."

"I started the final kilometer five positions behind Kristoff. But he clearly was the fastest. Beating Kristoff isn't easy since his train is super strong. I am satisfied with this third spot, although it is sad I needed two more seconds to take over the lead."

"I take over the green jersey and hope to bring it home on Sunday. Kristoff will be my main competitor. But I will also try to win the final general classification! I feel very good so I want to hang on as long as possible on Saturday and lose as few time as I can. On Sunday the course suits me perfectly with a little difficulty in the final, ideal for a type as me."

Results Stage 2

1. Alexander Kristoff
2. Hugo Hofstetter
3. Andrea Pasqualon
4. Robin Stenuit
35. Yoann Offredo
51. Brecht Dhaene
77. Simone Antonini
102. Tom Devriendt + 1 :28

GC after stage 2

1. Dylan Teuns
2. Andrea Pasqualon + 0:02
3. Alexander Kristoff + 0:03
30. Brecht Dhaene + 0:31
58. Yoann Offredo + 2:23
59. Simone Antoni + 2:23
79. Rovin Stenuit + 5:27
93. Tom Devriendt + 6:53

Photo : ASO/P.Ballet